Skip to content

An unfortunate shortage of images

September 27, 2011

Dear Colorado:

I have been living here for  five months, minus a few days.  The handful of places I have visited so far have been beautiful beyond words, and I have not seen nearly enough outside of Denver.  Life has this funny tendency of getting in the way of what I would rather be doing, like exploring and taking photos of everything.  I moved out here with the vague notion of pursuing photography, but something (Fear? Ignorance? Laziness?) is keeping me from shooting anything more than recreationally.  That being said, I still want to be a photographer; I still want to take pictures.  I love everything out here, from the crazy, beautiful light to the fun people to the indescribable beauty you only find at 13000 feet, slowly spinning on top of a mountain and taking in the world below you.  I am going to try; I am going to keep plugging away, not giving up, doing whatever it takes.

As for some actual photos, I had the opportunity and good luck to go hiking this past weekend with a friend.  Suffice it to say that we rocked the mountains we hiked, the highest one topping out at nearly 13,700 feet.  Again, breathtaking.  It is also pretty close to peak fall at the higher altitudes – we were outside of Breckenridge.  Driving through groves of Aspen at sunset, the world was literally golden.  So, here are a few images from this past weekend.  Please enjoy these glimpses of my first Colorado fall.  Love.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

